Home of the Bruins and Honeybears

This is a picture of Mount Pulaski Grade School.



Principal,
Gene Newton
119 North Garden Street
Mount Pulaski, IL 62548

Phone: (217) 792-7220
Fax: (217) 792-7221


Announcements

  • Student Handbook Changes: Please read through the student handbook for 2018-2019.  Changes from the previous year are indicated in red.
  • Students must be registered in order to attend school. The office is open on weekdays from 8:00 AM until 3:30 PM.
  • Tuesday, August 21: Open House from 6:00 PM until 7:00 PM. Bring your supplies to your classroom/locker and meet your teacher(s)!
  • Wednesday, August 22: First day of school. School begins at 7:58 AM.
  • Wednesday, August 29: Tentative date that Softball and baseball pictures will be taken. Athletes must bring their uniforms/gear/etc…to school in the morning. Picture order forms and money are due at the time the photo is taken.
  • Monday, September 3: No School
  • Wednesday, September 12: School Picture Day
  • Friday, September 21: Midterm
  • Friday, September 28: 11:24 AM Student Dismissal 
  • Thursday, October 4: Students dismissed at 11:24 AM due to Parent/Teacher Conferences from 3 PM until 8 PM. To schedule a conference, grades K-5 should directly contact the teacher via email. Grade 6 through 8 conferences may be scheduled by calling the office directly after September 15th.
  • Friday, October 5: No School - Parent/Teacher Conferences from 8:00 AM until 12:00 PM.
  • Monday, October 8: No School
  • Friday, October 19: End of Quarter 1
  • Friday, October 26: Quarter 1 Report Cards available on TeacherEase
  • Wednesday, October 31: Students dismissed at 11:24 AM
  • Friday, November 16: Midterm
  • Wednesday, November 21: Students dismissed at 1:58 PM
  • Thursday, November 22: No School
  • Friday, November 23: No School
  • Wednesday, December 12: Band & Chorus Concert at 6:30 PM in the High School Gymnasium
  • Thursday, December 20: Students dismissed at 1:58 PM
  • Friday, December 21: Students dismissed at 1:58 PM - End of Semester 1 - End of Quarter 2
  • Saturday, December 22 through Monday, January 7: No School
  • Tuesday, January 8: School Resumes
  • Monday, January 21: No School
  • Friday, February 8: Midterm
  • Monday, February 18: No School
  • Monday, March 4: No School
  • Tuesday, March 12: Freshman Orientation at 6:30 PM at the High School. All 8th graders and their parents are invited to attend.
  • Friday, March 15: End of Quarter 3
  • Friday, March 29: Students dismissed at 11:24 AM
  • Friday, April 17: Midterm - Students dismissed at 1:58 PM
  • Saturday, April 18 through Monday, April 22: No School
  • Friday, April 26: Students dismissed at 11:24 AM
  • Tuesday, April 30: Band and Chorus Spring Concert at 6:30 PM in the High School Gymnasium
  • Friday, May 3: NO SCHOOL (if no snow days were used previously)
  • Friday, May 10: No School (unless 2 snow days were used previously)
  • Friday, May 17: No School (unless 3 snow days were used previously)
  • Friday, May 17: Tentative Date for 8th Grade Promotion Ceremony - Date has yet to be approved by the Board of Education due to snow days.
  • Friday, May 24: No School (unless 4 snow days were used previously)
  • Monday, May 27: No School
  • Wednesday, May 29: Tentative Student Dismissal at 1:58 PM
  • Thursday, May 30: Tentative Student Dismissal at 1:58 PM - Tentative last day of school
  • Individual Season Pass to Home Athletics Events: Each pass is $50 and valid for the person named on the pass only. No family passes for the 2018-2019 season.
  • We serve breakfast! It starts at 7:45 a.m. each school day. Cost for breakfast is $1.50 or $0.30 for students who qualify for reduced-priced meals.  Students who qualify for free lunches are eligible for free breakfast.  
  • MPGS is a CATCH School! We’re working to help all students become CATCH MVP’s. A CATCH MVP is a student who Moves & stays active, Values healthing eating, and Practices healthy habits. Click here to learn more!
  • The bus barn phone number is 217-792-5687. This number receives text messages and calls. Please text or call the bus barn if your child will not be riding as usual.
  • Need affordable internet at home? Comcast is offering an affordable opportunity for families who qualify. Click here to check it out or call 1-855-846-8376.

Curriculum

  • Click here to read the MPCUD #23 Personalized Learning Initiative (PLI) as discussed in detail at the August 2013 Board of Education meeting.

 Other Activities

  • The Technology Department recycles used inkjet cartridges and laserjet cartridges throughout the entire school year. Toner, cell phones and ribbons are not accepted. Feel free to drop off items in the school office for the recycling program.

  • Keep informed of your students' progress online. TeacherEase is available for students and parents. Request a sign-in!

School Year Information

© MPGS 2018 - 119 North Garden Street - Mt. Pulaski - IL - 62548 - Phone: (217) 792-7220 - Fax: (217) 792-7221 - Disclaimer - Copyright